2020 Biennale of Sydney theme and artists announced

2020 Biennale of Sydney director with some of the exhibiting artists (L to R): Léuli Eshrāghi, Jo-Anne Birnie-Danzker (BoS director and CEO), Kylie Wong, Barbara McGrady, Gina Athena Ulysse, SJ Norman, Lhola Amira, Tony Albert, Nicholas Galanin, Lisa Reihana, Brook Andrew (artistic director BoS 2020), Katarina Matiasek, Arthur Jafa, and Latai Taumoepeau

Artist and this year’s artistic director of the 2020 Biennale of Sydney Brook Andrew has announced the theme of this year’s edition and a preliminary list of participating artists. Andrew, who is the first Australian of indigenous heritage to take up the role of artistic director, will focus the biennale titled ‘Nirin’ (a Wiradjuri word meaning ‘edge’) on First Nations peoples and ancient cultures. The biennale will centre around seven themes: Dhaagun (earth), Bagaray-Bang (healing), Yirawy-Dhuray (yam-connection, or food), Gurray (transformation), Muriguwal Giiland (different stories), Ngawaal-Guyungan (powerful ideas), and Bila (river). In a statement, Andrew has said that the biennale will be ‘an inspirational journey driven by stories and grass-root practices, realised through twisting perceptions, moments of transition and a sense of being in the world that is interconnected’.

The preliminary list of participating artists includes:

Tony Albert
Maria Thereza Alves
Lhola Amira
Sammy Baloji
Huma Bhabha
Blacktown Native Institution
Anna Boghiguian
Eric Bridgeman
Victoria Santa Cruz
Léuli Eshrãghi
Jes Fan
Nicholas Galanin
Fátima Rodrigo Gonzales
Lawrence Abu Hamdan
Arthur Jafa
Hannah Catherine Jones
Bronwyn Katz
Kylie Kwong
Barbara McGrady
Ibrahim Mahama
Teresa Margolles
Misheck Masamvu
Katarina Matiasek
Jota Mombaça
Prof Sir Zanele Muholi
The Mulka Project
SJ Norman
Taqralik Partridge
Laure Prouvost
Lisa Reihana
Latai Taumoepeau
Gina Athena Ulysse

10 April 2019