2015 Sharjah Biennial Prize winners announced

Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Eric Baudelaire, Asuncion Molinos Gordo, Adrián Villar Rojas, Fahrelnissa Zeid

Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme, The Incidental Insurgents: The Part about the Bandits, video still, 2012. Courtesy of the artists and Carroll/Fletcher Gallery.

This year’s Sharjah Biennial Prize goes to Palestinian artist-duo Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme, American filmmaker Eric Baudelaire, Spanish multimedia artist Asuncion Molinos Gordo and Argentinean sculptor Adrián Villar Rojas, as well as Turkish artist Fahrelnissa Zeid, who was granted a posthumous award, Asia Art Pacific reports.

Awarded by the Sharjah Art Foundation (SAF), the prize was launched in 1993 together with the first Sharjah Biennial and rewards artists for their ‘contribution to the cultural landscape of Sharjah and the Middle East.’ The prize can be given in amounts totaling $30,000, and be granted to any number of artists, upon the jury’s sole discretion, who this year included Koyo Kouoh (founding artistic director of Dakar-based art center RAW Material Company), Suha Shoman (founder and chair of Darat al-Funun/The Khalid Shoman Foundation in Amam), and artist Park Chang-Kyong (artistic director of the international art biennial, Mediacity Seoul 2014).

10 March 2015