Longlist announced for RIBA’s first International Prize 2016

Vo Trong Nghia Architects, Farming Kindergarten, 2014, Dong Nai, Vietnam

RIBA has just announced its longlist of architects who will be in the running to win the inaugural International Prize 2016. The judging panel for the best building of the year will include Kunlé Adeyemi, Philip Gumuchdjian, Marilyn Jordan Taylor, Richard Rogers and Billie Tsien. Among the 30 nominees are Zaha Hadid, Vo Trong Nghia, WOHA, David Chipperfield, dRMM/Helen and Hard and Patkau Architects.

The RIBA International Prize is open to all architects anywhere in the world. The winning building is judged on whether it 'demonstrates visionary, innovative thinking and excellence of execution, while making a generous contribution to society and to its physical context.'

The award will be presented in December 2016.

See the full list and map of architects and their buildings here. 

10 May 2016.