Shirin Neshat and El Anatsui among winners of Praemium Imperiale

El Anatsui, Shirin Neshat. Image: courtesy Praemium Imperiale

The winners of the Praemium Imperiale have been announced, The New York Times reports. Awarded annually by the Japan Art Association since 1989, this lifetime achievement prize recognises artists working in the fields of painting, sculpture, architecture, music and film/theatre.

The five winners include visual artists Shirin Neshat and El Anatsui, as well as the dancer Mikhail Baryshnikov, the architect Rafael Moneo and the musician Youssou N’Dour. They will each receive a 15m yen stipend (approx. £103,000) at a ceremony in Tokyo on 18 October. The associated Grant for Young Artists, which encourages new initiatives supporting young artists, went to Zoukak Theater and Cultural Association, a Beirut-based theatre collective led by Maya Zbib, who will receive 5m yen (approx. £34,000).

12 September 2017