Mika Rottenberg wins 2018 Kurt Schwitters Prize

Mika Rottenberg, NoNoseKnows, 2015, video and sculptural installation, dimensions variable, 22 min. Courtesy the artist and Andrea Rosen Gallery, New York

Argentinian artist Mika Rottenberg is the winner of the 2018 edition of the Kurt Schwitters Prize, a biennial award administered by Niedersächsische Sparkassenstiftung (the Lower Saxony Savings Bank Foundation). Rottenberg will receive a €25,000 cash-prize and a solo exhibition at the the Sprengel Museum in Hannover.

Rottenberg was selected by an international jury, comprising: Reinhard Spieler, director of the Sprengel Museum Hannover; Ralf Beil, director of the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg; Laurent Le Bon, director of the Musée Picasso in Paris; Massimiliano Gioni, artistic director of the New Museum in New York; and Susanne Pfeffer, director of the Museum of Modern Art in Frankfurt.

In a joint statement the jury members praised 'her interdisciplinary-experimental artistic approach' and her 'exploration of the interweaving of the machine and the body', which they felt resounded with the work of Kurt Schwitters.

13 August 2018