ICI announces shortlist for 2016 Independent Vision Curatorial Award

Independent Curators International has announced the names of 12 curators who have been shortlisted for this year’s Independent Vision Curatorial Award. The award is one of the few that recognises rising curatorial talent and is given every two years to early to mid-career curators who have demonstrated 'exceptional creativity and prescience in their exhibition-making, research, and related writing'. On 26 October 2016, a winner will be announced by the director of the Pérez Art Museum Miami Franklin Sirmans and will receive around £2,250 ($3000) in prize money which will be allocated towards funding a future project.

The curatorial shortlist for 2016 includes:
Rashida Bumbray, independent curator and choreographer, and senior program manager of the Arts Exchange and Open Society Foundations; Elise Atangana, independent curator and producer, and curator of Seven Hills, Kampala Art Biennale 2016, Uganda; Amanda Abi Khalil, independent curator and founder of Temporary Art Platform; Diana Campbell Betancourt, chief curator of Dhaka Art Summit and artistic director at Samdani Art Foundation, Dhaka, Bangladesh and Bellas Artes Project, Bagac; José Esparza Chong Cuy, Pamela Alper associate curator at MCA Chicago; Sabel Gavaldon, independent curator; Candice Hopkins, independent curator and writer; Miguel A. Lopez, chief curator of TEOR/éTica; Camila Marambio, independent curator; Louise O’Kelly, founding director of Block Universe Performance Art Festival; Fatos Ustek, independent curator and writer; Vivian Ziherl, curator of Jerusalem Show VII: Before and After Origins (2016) and founder of Frontier Imaginaries.

13 September 2016