Sharjah Biennial art prize winners announced

Visitors tour Sharjah Biennial 13 led by curator Christine Tohme. Image: courtesy of Sharjah Art Foundation.

The Sharjah Art Foundation (SAF) has announced the recipients of the Sharjah Biennial Prize. Since 1993, a selection of participating artists from each biennial has been chosen by a jury to receive the Sharjah Biennial Prize. The four recipients selected this year were Dineo Seshee Bopape, İnci Eviner, Uriel Orlow and Walid Siti. A special prize was awarded to the late Ali Jabri which will be dedicated to the conservation of his work.

The thirteenth edition of the Sharjah Biennial (SB13), titled Tamawuj and curated by Christine Tohme, runs from 10 March to 12 June 2017. The jurors for the 2017 edition were Dr Yousif Aydabi, Cultural Advisor at the Dr Sultan Al Qasimi Centre for Gulf Studies in Sharjah, N'Goné Fall, independent curator and co-founder of GawLab Collective in Dakar and Adriano Pedrosa, Artistic Director of Museu de Arte de São Paulo Assis Chateaubriand (MASP).

14 March 2017