Berlin Art Prize 2016 announces winners

Volksbuehne, Berlin

The German theatre director Frank Castorf has been awarded the 2016 Grand Berlin Art Prize and €15,000 for his work at the Volksbühne. Since 1992 he has been the artistic director of the Volksbühne, a contemporary theatre regarded one of the most provocative and experimental in Germany. It was announced in 2015 that he would be leaving his position, to be replaced by Chris Dercon in 2017.

The 2016 Berlin Art Prize will go to 6 artists, Sven Johne (visual arts), Office Kersten Geers David van Severen (architecture), Stefan Prins (music), Angelika Meier (literature), Anna Prohaska (performing arts) and Peter Avar (film and media arts(, who will each receive €5,000. 

15 March 2016.