Korea Artist Prize 2018 exhibition presents shortlisted artists

Installation work by Jae Ho Jung

The National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea (MMCA) and SBS Culture Foundation copresent the 2018 edition of Korea Artist Prize with an exhibition showcasing the work of four shortlisted artists. The Korea Art Prize was established in 2012 to support and foster artists who are ‘broadening the horizons of Korean contemporary art with new visions and original ideas’.

At MMCA, siren eun young jung, Minja Gu, Jae Ho Jung and Okin Collective are showing their work through 25 November. In a statement, Cuauhtémoc Medina (chief curator of the 2008 Shanghai Biennale), one of the judges of this year’s prize has said: ‘From the avant-garde to the traditional, these artists use an impressively broad range of mediums, and together they demonstrate both the uniqueness and universality of Korean contemporary art.’

The winner of the 2018 Korea Artist Prize will be announced on 5 September and will receive KRW10 million (about £7,000).

The jury includes:
Bartomeu Mari (Director, The National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea)
Suzanne Cotter (Director, Mudam Luxembourg)
Chunchen Wang (Vice President, The Central Academy of Fine Arts Museum, China)
Sungwon Kim (Artistic Director, Asia Culture Center)
Cuauhtémoc Medina (Chief Curator, University Museum of Contemporary Art/Chief Curator of 2018 Shanghai Biennale)

SBS Culture Foundation also runs Korea Artist Prize Promotion Fund which helps to support international projects by former Korea Artist Prize winners and runnersup. This year, the fund will support an exhibition of work by Kyungwon Moon and Joonho Jeon at Tate Liverpool, as well as Kyungah Ham for her participation in the Bangkok Biennale. 

16 August 2018