The Royal Academy announces Architecture Prize winner and Dorfman Award finalists

Cristina Iglesias. Courtesy of the Royal Academy of Arts

The Royal Academy of Arts announced Spanish artist Cristina Iglesias as this year's recipient of the 2020 Royal Academy Architecture Prize. The jury, chaired by the Royal Academician and founder of Foster + Partners, Norman Foster, awarded Iglesias for her 'inspiring contribution to the culture of architecture', highlighting the artist’s Rivers and Public Spaces series (2006 – 2018). Iglesias' work typically intervenes in the public space, exploring the relationship between the built and the natural environment. 

The jury also selected the finalists for the Royal Academy Dorfman Award, which 'champions global talent that represents the future of architecture.' The four practices are:

AAU Anastas (Palestine)
AOR Architects (Finland)
BCKJ Architects (China)
WHBC Architects (Malaysia)

The winner will be announced on 17 March 2020 during the Royal Academy Architecture Awards Week.

16 January 2020