Istanbul Biennial to address ‘decentred’ world

The 16th Istanbul Biennial, titled The Seventh Continent and curated by Nicolas Bourriaud, has announced its list of artists and venues. Where the previous edition was spread across venues in the city, the 2019 biennial (which runs from 14 September to 10 November) will be installed in three locations: in the familiar venue of the Pera Museum, but also in the Istanbul shipyards and at five sites on Büyükada Island in the Sea of Marmara.

In his curatorial statement, Bourriaud explained that the title refers to the mass of plastic floating on the world's oceans. This 'new world' composed of drifting fragments serves as a means, he proposes, of exploring our decentred and fractured present moment, with the artist figured as 'the absolute other, a person who does not depend on what exists or what is accepted, but stands separate'. 

The full list of 57 artists selected to exhibit at the biennial is: Agnieszka Kurant, Ambera Wellmann, Andrea Zittel, Anzo (José Iranzo Almonacid), Armin Linke, Charles Avery, Claudia Martínez Garay, David Douard, Deniz Aktaş, Dora Budor, Elmas Deniz, Eloise Hawser, En Man Chang, Eva Kot'átková, Evru/Zush, Feral Atlas Collective, Glauco Rodrigues, Glenn Ligon, Güneş Terkol & Güçlü Öztekin, Hale Tenger, Haegue Yang, Jared Madere, Jennifer Tee, Johannes Büttner, Jonathas de Andrade, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Marguerite Humeau, Mariechen Danz, Monster Chetwynd, Luigi Serafini, Max Hooper Schneider, Melvin Moti, Mika Rottenberg, Müge Yılmaz, Ozan Atalan, Özlem Altın, Pakui Hardware (Ugnius Gelguda & Neringa Černiauskaitė), Paul Sietsema, Piotr Uklański, Norman Daly, Phillip Zach, Pia Arke, Radcliffe Bailey, Rashid Johnson, Rebecca Belmore, Sanam Khatibi, Simon Fujiwara, Simon Starling, Suzanne Husky, Suzanne Treister, Tala Madani, Thiago Rocha Pitta, Turiya Magadlela, Ursula Mayer, Ylva Snöfrid, Yuji Agematsu.

For further information:

17 June