Shortlist announced for Film London Jarman Award

The Film London Jarman Award, which awards £10,000 each year to a UK-based filmmaker, has announced its 2019 shortlist. The nominated artists are: 

Cécile B. Evans
Beatrice Gibson
Mikhail Karikis
Hetain Patel
Imran Perretta
Rehana Zaman

A tour of events, screenings and exhibitions of the artists' work will take place at venues across the UK before the winner is announced on 25 November at London's Barbican Centre. Founded in 2008, the previous winners of the award are (in reverse chronological order): Daria Martin, Oreet Ashery, Heather Phillipson, Seamus Harahan, Ursula Mayer, John Smith, James Richards, Anya Kirschner & David Panos, Emily Wardill, Lindsay Seers and Luke Fowler.

The jury is: Andrea Lissoni (Senior Curator, International Art (Film) at Tate Modern); Iwona Blazwick (Director of the Whitechapel Gallery); Larry Achiampong & David Blandy (artists shortlisted for last year's award); Melanie Keen (Director of Inivia) and Tyrone Walker-Hebborn (Director of Genesis Cinema).

17 June