LA Times's Mary McNamara wins 2015 Pulitzer Prize for Criticism

The other two finalists in this category were both film critics – Stephanie Zacharek (Village Voice) and Manohla Dargis (New York Times), the second year in a row that all nominees have been women.

LA Times writer Mary McNamara has been awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Criticism, part of the 99th US-based annual Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, Letters, Drama, and Music.

McNamara, who is the LA Times’s television critic and cultural editor, was praised for  her 'savvy criticism … that uses shrewdness, humour and an insider’s view to show how both subtle and seismic shifts in the cultural landscape affect television'. Her work on sexism on screen was also singled out for praise.

Previous winners in this category who have been art critics include Philip Kennicott of The Washington Post (2013); Sebastian Smee of The Boston Globe (2011)Holland Cotter of The New York Times (2009) and Mark Feeney of The Boston Globe (2008).

See here for information on all this year's winners.

21 April 2015