Shortlist announced for inaugural edition of Hepworth Prize for Sculpture

Barbara Hepworth in studio. Courtesy the Hepworth Wakefield

The Hepworth Wakefield has announced the shortlist and judging panel for the inauguration of its newly established biennial award, the Hepworth Prize for Sculpture 2016. This year’s nominated artists – Phyllida Barlow, Steven Claydon, Helen Marten and David Medalla – will present their work in an exhibition at the Hepworth Wakefield from 21 October 2016 to 22 January 2017. The winner will be announced in November, and will receive £30,000.

The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture will recognise a British or UK-based artist of any age, at any stage in their career, who has made a significant impact on the development of contemporary sculpture.

The 2016 judging panel of five will include: Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, director of Castello di Rivoli Museo d’Arte Contemporanea and GAM Galleria Civica d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea di Torino; David Chipperfield, architect and designer of the Hepworth Wakefield; Sheika Hoor al-Qasimi, president Sharjah Art Foundation; Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, president of the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, collector and patron of the arts; Alastair Sooke, art critic and broadcaster.

21 March 2016.