Winners announced for the 2018 and 2020 Fourth Plinth commissions

Heather Phillipson, THE END, 2016 Michael Rakowitz, The Invisible Enemy Should Not Exist, 2016

Michael Rakowitz and Heather Phillipson have been announced as the winners of the next Fourth Plinth commissions in Trafalgar Square, London. The designs will be unveiled in 2018 and 2020 respectively, replacing David Shrigley’s giant thumbs-up sculpture which will sit on the plinth through 18 March 2018. Other shortlisted artists included Huma Bhabha, Damián Ortega and Raqs Media Collective.

Launched in 1998 and funded by Mayor of London with support from Arts Council England, the Fourth Plinth commissioning programme invites international artists to create large scale sculpture for the empty plinth on Trafalgar Square. Previous winners include Yinka Shonibare, Elmgreen & Dragset and Hans Haacke, among others.

21 March 2017