2015 Jerwood Drawing Prize shortlist annouced

Julie Cockburn, The Mother Ship, ink and embroidery on found photograph

Fifty-eight artists have been shortlisted for this year's Jerwood Drawing Prize, out of an open submission of over 2,500. This year's selectors and judges are artist Dexter Dalwood; artist, curator and writer Salima Hashmi and writer and art historian John-Paul Stonard.

The winners of the annual award, which includes a first prize of £8,000, second prize of £5,000 and two student awards of £2,000 each, will be announced and awarded at the preview of the Jerwood Drawing Prize Exhibition on 15 September 2015. The exhibition will continue at Jerwood Space, London until 25 October 2015. 

The full list of shortlisted artists is:

Elisa Alaluusua

Ian Andrews

Robert Battams

Frances Blane

Hannah Blight-Anderson

Pia Bramley

Pete Burke

John Close

Julie Cockburn

Daniel Crawshaw

Gerry Davies

Cinzia Delnevo

Sammy Dent

Emma Douglas

Bryan Eccleshall

Pennie Elfick

Susan England

Exchange + Draw

Mark Farhall

Craig Fisher

Nina Fowler

Thomas Gosebruch

Thomas Harrison

Roland Hicks

William Hughes

Julia Hutton

Mehr Javed

Ben Johnson

Ali Kayley

Nigel Kingsbury

Lois Langmead

Gary Lawrence

Juliette Losq

William Mackrell

Sean Maltby

Grace McMurray

Anouk Mercier

Mary Millner

Joonhong Min

Paul Peden

Lee John Phillips

Ruth Philo

Giulia Ricci

Annette Robinson

Jenny Ross

Gabriela Schutz

Sarah Seymour

Caroline Shadbolt

Soheila Sokhanvari

Charlotte Steel

Hanna ten Doornkaat

John Thole

Caroline Truss

Alan Turnbull

Ronis Varlaam

Rosie Vohra

Roy Willingham

Martha Zmpounou

23 July 2015