Corin Sworn wins 2013–15 Max Mara Art Prize for Women

Corin Sworn. Photo: Alan Dimmick. Courtesy Whitechapel Gallery

Corin Sworn has been named the winner of the Max Mara Art Prize for Women. Sworn was chosen from a shortlist that included Beatrice Gibson, Melanie Gilligan, Judith Goddard and Philomene Pirecki for the six-month Italian residency across three cities, followed by major solo exhibitions at the\n Whitechapel Gallery in London and Collezione Maramotti near Milan. Each artist was required to demonstrate how they would utilise the residency, with judges Iwona Blazwick, director of the Whitechapel Gallery, gallerist Pilar Corrias, Outset's Candida Gertler, artist Runa Islam and Henry Moore Institute curator Lisa Le Feuvre impressed by Sworn’s winning proposal involving the history and costumes of the Commedia dell’Arte. Past winners of the prize include include Laure Prouvost (2011–2013), Andrea Büttner (2009–2011) and Hannah Rickards (2007–2009).