America's National Medal of Arts winners announced

James Turrell among the recipients

American National Medal of Arts

James Turrell will be one of 11 individuals and institutions across the arts who will be receiving America's highest award to practitioners and patrons across the arts for 2013, awarded this year. Other recipients include dancer and choreographer Bill T. Jones, musician Linder Ronstadt, and architects Billie Tsien and Tod Williams. Artists awarded the medal in previous years include Ellsworth Kelly (2012), Frank Stella (2009) and Helen Frankenthaler (2001).

The awards will be be presented by President Obama on Monday, 28 July, at the White House and streamed live at

24 July 2014