Ursula Johnson wins $50,000 Sobey Art Prize

Ursula Johnson, Hot Looking, 2014, durational performance-based installation with delegated performer and looped audio, variable dimensions. Photo: Michael Wasnidge

Ursula Johnson has been announced as the winner of the 14th Sobey Art Prize during a ceremony at the Hart House Great Hall at the University of Toronto on 25 October. Johnson, representing the Atlantic region, was selected among a shortlist of five artist, each coming from different regions in Canada: Jacynthe Carrier (Québec), Bridget Moser (Ontario), Divya Mehra (Prairies and the North), and Raymond Boisjoly (West Coast and Yukon). Johnson will receive $50,000, and, following an increase in prize money this year, each of the nominees will be awarded $10,000. Works by all the nominees are also on view at the Art Museum at the University of Toronto through 9 December.

The Sobey Art Prize is awarded annually since 2002 by the Sobey Art Foundation and the National Gallery of Canada; previous winners include Jeremy Shaw and Abbas Akhavan.

26 October 2017