Shortlist announced for Norway’s national art prize

Trondheim Kunstmuseum has announced the shortlisted artists of the 2017 Lorck Schive Kunstpris. Knut Henrik Henriksen, Mattias Härenstam, Lars Laumann and Vibeke Tandberg will be presenting their work at the museum in an exhibition which begins on 1 October 2017. The biennial national prize of Norway is awarded to established Norwegian artists to help them gain international recognition while enabling them to further their practice.

Each artist has been given 150,000 NOK to produce new commissions for the exhibition, from which one winner will be selected by an international jury which includes independent curator Heidi Ballet (who is currently working on the 2017 edition of Lofoten International Art Festival), Per Formo, an artist whose work can be found in collections at the National Museum, the Stavanger Art Museum and the Norwegian Cultural Council, and curator and director of Tensta Konsthall Maria Lind.

The winner of the Lorck Schive Kunstpris will be announced in November, and receive a cash prize of 500,000 NOK.

In a statement, director of the Trondhein kunstmuseum Johan Börjesson has said, ‘This year’s nominees, while very different in their individual practices, are united by a searching into the rules and forms of our inner and outer worlds, whether it be architecture, memory or art itself.’

26 July 2017