Prix Elysée 2016 announces nominees

Robert Zhao Renhui, Christmas Island Red Crabs during migration season, 2016. Courtesy the artist

The Musée de l’Elysée has announced the eight nominees of the second edition of its prize, launched in 2014 to support artists working in photography and books. 

The artists are: Elina Brotherus (Finnish, born in 1972 in Helsinki); Matthias Bruggmann (Swiss, born in 1978 in Aix-enProvence, France); David Jiménez (Spanish, born in 1970 in Seville, Spain); Sofie Knijff (Dutch and Belgian, born in 1972 in Vilvoorde, Belgium); Jim Naughten (British, born in 1969 in Horsham, United Kingdom); Emeka Okereke (Nigerian, born in 1980 in Nigeria); Robert Zhao Renhui (Singaporean, born in 1983 in Singapore); Isabelle Blanc (French and Swiss, born in 1971 in Paris) & Olivier Hilaire (French, born in 1979 in Nîmes, France)

The winner will be announced in June 2017, and will receive CHF 80,000 towards the realisation of his or her project and a book. 

27 June 2017.