2017 Jarman Award shortlist announced

Courtesy Jarman Awards

The jury of the Film London Jarman Award have announced the six shortlisted artists for the 10th edition. They are: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Oreet Ashery, Adham Faramawy, Melanie Manchot, Charlotte Prodger and Marianna Simnett. Of the shorlist, the jury has said: ‘Working at the interface between contemporary filmmaking and performance, forensics, augmented reality, choreographed, participatory and activist practices, each artist has developed a highly distinctive voice that brings us up close to the complex conditions of human experience in the context of major social, political and cultural forces.’

Presented in association with Channel 4 and the Whitechapel Gallery, the award recognises and supports the work of UK-based artist filmmakers through a £10,000-cash prize for the winner, while all shortlisted artists will be commissioned by Channel 4 to produce new films for their Random Acts arts strand. The winner will be announced on 20 November 2017 at a ceremony at the Whitechapel Gallery in London, as well as that of the Jules Wright Prize for Female Creative Technicians, to be awarded this year to a woman working in the field of sound.

29 June 2017