Shortlist announced for 2018 Jarman Awards

Courtesy Margaret Salmon

The shortlisted artists for this year’s Film London Jarman Award have been announced. They are: Larry Achiampong & David Blandy, Jasmina Cibic, Lawrence Lek, Hardeep Pandhal, Daria Martin, and Margaret Salmon. 

Presented in association with Channel 4 and the Whitechapel Gallery, London, the award was founded in memory of filmmaker Derek Jarman and supports UK-based artists working in moving image. The winner of the £10,000-award will be announced in November. A touring presentation of the shortlisted artists’ works will travel across institutions the UK in the run-up to the announcement.

The shortlist was selected by a jury comprising Andrea Lissoni, senior curator at Tate Modern and Film London Board Member; Catherine Bray, editor for Random Acts, Channel 4; Iwona Blazwick OBE, director of the Whitechapel Gallery; artist Melanie Manchot; Skinder Hundal, chief executive of New Art Exchange, Nottingham, and Tyrone Walker-Hebborn, director, Genesis Cinema.

Excerpts from each of the nominees' work can be viewed here

26 June 2018