Tamar Guimarães and Kasper Akhøj win Faena Prize for the Arts

Tamar Guimarães and Kasper Akhøj, Preliminary sketch/research. Courtesy the artists and Frederico Fazenda

Tamar Guimarães and Kasper Akhøj have been announced as the winners of the Faena Prize for the Arts. They will receive $75,000 (approx. £55,000), which includes $25,000 for the artist and a budget of up to $50,000 USD towards the production of their exhibition at the Faena Art Center Buenos Aires in 2019.

Guimarães and Akhøj were selected by an international jury chaired by Ximena Caminos, Chair and Artistic Director of Faena Art, and comprising Carlos Basualdo, Keith L. and Katherine Sachs senior curator of contemporary art, Philadelphia Museum of Art; Anita Dube, artist and curator of the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 201; Pablo León de la Barra, curator, Latin America, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; and Franklin Sirmans, director of Pérez Art Museum Miami. Special mention awards were given to Vivian Caccuri and Ishmael Randall Weeks, who each received a $1,000-cash prize.

30 April 2018