2018 Sobey Art Award shortlist announced

2017 Sobey Art Award winner Ursula Johnson’s, Migration with O’pltek Form, 2010–12

The National Gallery of Canada and the Sobey Art Foundation have announced the five finalists for this year’s edition of the art award, Artnews reports. Each artist on the shortlist represents one of Canada’s five geographic regions: Jordan Bennett (the Atlantic region), Jon Rafman (Quebec), Kapwani Kiwanga (Ontario), Joy T. Arcand (the Prairies and the North) and Jeneen Frei Njootli (West Coast and the Yukon). An exhibition of the finalists’ works will be on display at the National Gallery of Canada, opening 3 October.

The winner will be chosen on 14 November and receive a $100,000 prize. The four runners up will each win $25,000, while the 20 longlisted artists will each receive $2,000.

This year’s jury, chaired by the senior curator of contemporary art at the gallery, Josée Drouin-Brisebois, are: Heather Igloliorte (independent curator and Concordia University’s research chair in indigenous art history and community engagement); Jean-François Bélisle (executive director and chief curator at the Musée d’art de Joliette); November Paynter (director of programmes at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Toronto); Kristy Trinier (executive director at the Southern Alberta Art Gallery); Melanie O’Brian (director of the Simon Fraser University Galleries) and Séamus Kealy (director of the Salzburger Kunstverein, Austria).

30 May 2018