2015 Absolut Art Award nominees announced

Circa '87, 2013. © the artist. Courtesy the artist and Gavin Brown Enterprise, New York

For the 2015 edition of the Absolut Art Award, the Jury members have invited 10 nominators to select a total of 47 artists and art writers, across both the ‘Art Work’ and ‘Art Writing’ categories. Among the 37 artists nominated for ‘Art Work’, are artists from 24 countries, and which include established names like Ragnar Kjartansson (Iceland), Yto Barrada (France), Rivane Neuenchwander (Brazil), Lee Kit (Hong Kong), John Akomfrah (USA) and Mark Leckey (UK), and younger artists including Köken Ergun (Turkey), and Simon Denny (New Zealand). For ‘Art Writing’, ten writers have been selected representing a broad range of research backgrounds and theoretical interests, including Quinn Latimer (USA), Tirdad Zolghadr (Ireland, Switzerland, USA) and Dieter Roelstraete (Belgium).

The winner of ‘Art Work’ will receive a €20,000 cash prize, plus up to €100,000 to develop and produce a new art work; the winning writer will also be awarded a cash prize of €20,000, alongside a budget of €25,000 towards the publication and distribution of a new book. A shortlist of five artists selected by the Jury will first be revealed during Art Basel Miami Beach 2014, before the winning artist and writer actual announcement during the opening of the next Venice Biennale in May 2015, and followed by an award an award ceremony in September 2015 in Stockholm, Sweden.

This year’s Jury is presided over by Massimiliano Gioni (Associate Director and Director of Exhibitions at the New Museum in New York and Artistic Director at the Fondazione Nicola Trussardi in Milan) and includes Magali Arriola (art critic and curator at Fundacion Jumex Arte Contemporaneo, Mexico), Negar Azimi (writer and senior editor of Bidoun Magazine), Doryun Chong (chief curator at M+, Hong Kong) and Jessica Morgan (Daskalopoulos Curator, International Art at Tate Modern, incoming Director of the Dia Art Foundation, New York).

See here for more information on the prize.

And the nominees are: 

Art Work Category

John Akomfrah b. 1957 Ghana

José Antonio Suárez Londoño b.1955 Columbia

Leonor Antunes b. 1972 Portugal

Nairy Baghramian b.1971 Iran

Yto Barrada b.1971 France

Yael Bartana b.1970 Israel

Eric Baudelaire b.1973 USA

Mariana Castillo Deball b.1975 Mexico

Simon Denny b.1982 New Zealand

Trisha Donnelly b.1974 USA

Köken Ergun b.1976 Turkey

Geoffrey Farmer b.1967 Canada

Richard Hawkins b.1961 USA

Camille Henrot b.1978 France / USA

Federico Herrero b.1978 Costa Rica

Karl Holmqvist b.1964 Sweden

Iman Issa b.1979 Egypt

Jesse Jones b.1978 Ireland

Lee Kit b.1978 Hong Kong

Ragnar Kjartansson b.1976 Iceland

Mark Leckey b.1964 UK

Minouk Lim b.1968 Korea

Jean Luc Moulène b.1955 France

Maha Maamoun b.1972 Egypt

Rodney McMillian b.1969 USA

Nicole Miller b.1982 USA

Nástio Mosquito b.1981 Angola

Shahryar Nashat b.1975 Switzerland

Rivane Neuenschwander b.1967 Brazil

Amalia Pica b.1978 Argentina

Michael Portnoy b.1971 USA

Laure Prouvost b.1978 France

Frances Stark b.1967 USA

Zhou Tao b.1976 China

Kaari Upson b.1972 USA

Andra Ursuta b.1979 Romania

Arseniy Zhilyaev b.1984 Russia

Art Writing Category

Julia Bryan-Wilson USA

Santiago García Navarro Argentina

Mark Godfrey UK

Alex Kitnick USA

Adam Kleinman USA

Quinn Latimer USA

Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer USA

Helen Molesworth USA

Dieter Roelstraete Belgium

Tirdad Zolghadr Iran/Switzerland/USA

30 October 2014.