Jarman Award shortlist announced

Ten artists shortlisted for moving image prize

Laura Buckley, The Magic Know-How, 2013. Courtesy the artist

The shortlist of the seventh Jarman Award has been announced and includes John Akomfrah, Sebastian Buerkner, Laura Buckley, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Steven Claydon, Redmond Entwistle, Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard, Ursula Mayer, Rachel Reupke and Stephen Sutcliffe. The award for UK-based artists working with moving image carries a £10,000 prize and a commission to make a new work to be broadcast on Channel 4. Previous winners include Luke Fowler (2008), Lindsay Seers (2009), Emily Wardill (2010), Anya Kirschner & David Panos (2011), James Richards (2012), and John Smith (2013). Three further artists will also be selected for Channel 4 commissions, worth £4000 each.

The winners will be announced on 8 December at the Whitechapel Gallery, chosen by a jury which includes Iwona Blazwick, director of the Whitechapel Gallery; John Hay, commissioning editor for arts, Channel 4; Steven Cairns, associate curator of artists’ film & moving image at the ICA; Beatrice Gibson, artist and filmmaker; and John Maybury, filmmaker.

7 July 2014