Ben Rivers wins 2016 EYE Art and Film Prize

Ben Rivers, THERE IS A HAPPY LAND FURTHER AWAAY, 2015, 20 mins, 16 seconds, col/b+w. Courtesy the artist

Artist and filmmaker Ben Rivers has been awarded the second EYE Art and Film Prize of £25,000 to fund the making of new work. The award was set up as a collaboration between the EYE Film Museum in Amsterdam, and the Paddy and Joan Leigh Fermor Arts Fund, to highlight the relationship between contemporary art and film. 

This year's jury included: Sandra den Hamer (CEO EYE), Stuart Comer (chief curator for media and performance art, MoMA, New York), Isaac Julien (artist/director), Martijn Sanders (advisor and art collector), Olivia Stewart (trustee PJLF Arts Fund/producer/screenwriter), Béla Tarr (screenwriter/director) and the late artist and film director Chantal Akerman (1950–2015). 

8 April 2016.