Shortlist for Nissan Art Award 2020 announced

Nissan Art Award finalists, clockwise from top left: Ei Wada, Soichiro Mihara, Nobuko Tsuchiya, Sachiko Kazama, Ishu Han

A shortlist of artists nominated for the Nissan Art Award 2020 has been announced by the Nissan Motor Corporation. The Nissan Art Award was established ‘to celebrate new developments in Japanese contemporary art and help provoke debate about visual art by promoting creative emerging artists’. The finalists are: Ishu Han, Sachiko Kazama, Ei Wada, Soichiro Mihara, and Nobuko Tsuchiya. The jury for this edition comprise Jean de Loisy (director of Paris’s École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts), Ute Meta Bauer (founding director of the NTU Centre for Contemporary Art in Singapore), Suhanya Raffel (director of Hong Kong’s M+) and Lawrence Rinder (director and chief curator of the Berkeley Museum and Pacific Film Archive). The director of Tokyo’s Mori Art Museum Fumio Nanjo chairs the jury.

The winner of the Grand Prix will be announced in July 2020 and will receive JPY 5 million as well as an overseas residency, while the finalists will each receive JPY 1 million. The shortlisted artists will also each receive JPY 1 million to pay for the production of new works that will be presented at an exhibition in Yokohama in July 2020, led by Arts Initiative Tokyo.

8 July 2019