Shortlist announced for the Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2015

Katrina Palmer, Reality Flickers, 2013 (installation view). Courtesy the artist and MOT International, London

The shortlisted artists and institutions for the 2015 edition of the Contemporary Art Society Annual Award have been announced. Supported by the Sfumato Foundation, this £40,000 prize is awarded every year to a museum or public gallery in the UK for them to commission a new artwork for their collection by a nominated artist.

The nominees are Pablo Helguera with the Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art; Ragnar Kjartansson with Amgueddfa Cymru – National Museum Wales and Artes Mundi; Stephen Sutcliffe and Graham Eatough with The Whitworth, part of The University of Manchester, in partnership with LUX; Katrina Palmer with The Stanley & Audrey Burton Gallery in collaboration with the Henry Moore Institute.

The winner will be announced at the Barbican Centre in London on 23 November 2015.