Fundación Casa Wabi x ArtReview Open-Call Residency Prize 2024–25

Photo: Edmund Sumner

Fundación Casa Wabi and ArtReview are pleased to announce the seventh annual open-call residency prize for three artists/collectives interested in cultural cross-pollination and wishing to enter a dialogue with the communities around Casa Wabi in Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, Mexico.

Fundación Casa Wabi is a non-profit organization established in 2014 with the aim of promoting social development and international cultural exchange through the arts. The name Casa Wabi originates in wabi-sabi, the Japanese aesthetic world view that seeks wisdom and beauty in simplicity, imperfection, and the transience of nature. Our residency, exhibition and other arts programs seek to create connections between artists and communities in Puerto Escondido, México City, and Tokyo have mutually beneficial cultural cross-pollination as their goal.

Photo: Edmund Sumner

Casa Wabi is located on the Pacific coast, 30 minutes away from the Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca airport. Situated between the mountains and the sea, the main facility was designed by the Japanese architect Tadao Ando at the invitation of founder, Mexican artist Bosco Sodi. Facilities include a multipurpose room, six independent bungalows, two closed studios and another six open studios, a 450m² exhibition space, and various work areas that collectively create the ideal setting in which to recharge one’s energy amongst other artists.

In the decade since it opened, the Foundation has continued to make notable architectural and artistic additions to the 65-acre garden by Mexican architect Alberto Kalach, including a Clay Pavilion designed by Alvaro Siza (2017), a Chicken Coop by Kengo Kuma (2018), an Orchid Pavilion by Bernardo Quinzaños Oria of Centro de Colaboración Arquitectónica (2023) and Waterfall (2021) by Ugo Rondinone and Sentinel (2022) by Huma Bhabha.

Photo: Sergio Lopez
Photo: João Morgado.

Who can apply?

Applications are welcome from all artists, irrespective of background, age, nationality or career. A maximum of two artists can apply together if they work collaboratively.

What form should my application take?

The online application is available here.

What are the requirements for the residency and the community project?

We have no productivity requirements. But all residents are asked to produce a piece that reflects their stay, in the format of their choosing, to become part of Fundación Casa Wabi’s collection. The community project should be carried out and finished within the period of the residency.

Photo: Sergio Lopez

When will the residency be?

Winners will be allocated to one of these sessions in 2025:
Session 1: 10 January–20 February
Session 2: 24 February–4 April
Session 3: 24 April–3 June
Session 5: 7 August–17 September
Session 6: 22 September–31 October
Session 7: 5 November–16 December

Where and by when should my application be submitted?

Your application should be submitted here.

What is the application deadline?

**The deadline for receipt of applications is 15 June 2024.**

How will the winners be chosen?

Winners will be evaluated on the overall quality of their work, their resonance with Casa Wabi’s ethos, and the potential of their proposed community project proposal.

When will I hear back?

The three winners will be notified by July 29, and their names published online at and on July 31.

Photo: Sergio Lopez

What does the prize include?

* Local flight from Mexico City to Puerto Escondido. (Artists are responsible for their international airfare or other transportation to Mexico City.)
* Lodging, studio space, and three meals per day. Each residence offers a comfortable private bedroom with a bathroom.
* Support for the community project.

Where can I find information about past artist residencies?

Details of past artist residencies can be found here.

Past Winners

First edition (2017): Marita Fraser (Australia) , Dexter Dalwood (U.K.)
Second edition (2019): Cooking Sections (Alon Schwabe, U.K. and Daniel Fernández Pascual, Spain); Michael Mieskes (Germany) and Marco Miehling (Germany); Luján Candria (Argentina); Carlos Irijalba (Spain); Laura Gorsky (Brazil) and Renata Cruz (Brazil); Aldo Álvarez Tostado (Mexico)
Third edition (2020): Mónica Naranjo Uribe (Germany)
Fourth edition (2021-22): Félix Blume (France), Rachel Garrard (U.K.), Eduardo Loaeza (Mexico)
Fifth edition (2022-23): Dolores Furtado (Argentina), Melania Toma (Italy)
Sixth edition (2023-2024): Rafael Munarriz (Argentina), Nathalie Ventura (Brazil), Carles Tarrassó (Spain)

Most recent


We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy.