Sovereign Asian Art Prize announces 2020 shortlist

Thyitar, Marriage
Thyitar, Marriage

The Sovereign Art Foundation revealed the 2020 shortlist for its Asian Art Prize. The annual prize of $30,000 honours mid-career artists from Asia and Asia Pacific. The panelists who chose the shortlist included museum director David Elliot, artists Zhou Li and Miao Xiaochun and art historian Jiyoon Lee. In addition to the grand prize, finalists will compete for a public vote prize, decided through an online voting system and at the exhibition as well as the Vogue Hong Kong Women’s Art Prize, which will award $5,000 to the highest scoring female finalist.

The 31 finalists listed below represent 18 countries across the region.

Alex Seton
Alexandr Ugay
Almagul Menlibayeva
Amritah Sen
Anniketyni Madian
Bui Cong Khanh
Chui Pui-chee
Deden Hendan Durahman
Du Kun
Evgeny Boikov
Hee Jeong Jang
Hyundoo Park
Joyce Ho
Kanak Chanpa
Katsumi Hayakawa
Lim Soo Sik
Made Wiguna Valasara
MAP Office
Nge Lay
Nicola Anthony
Peggy Chan
Rachel Cheung Wai-sze
Rakib Ahmed
Rushdi Anwar
Saba Qizilbash
Sachin George Sebastian
Sarah Choo Jing
Sokchanlina Lim
Tao Xinglin
Taufik Ermas

Exhibitions and winners will be announced in May. In the meantime, members of the public can vote here

18 March 2020 

Most recent


We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy.