In Pictures: Seven artists shortlisted for London’s Fourth Plinth

‘The Smile You Send Returns to You’ by Chila Kumari Singh Burman

Seven artists have been nominated for the next editions of London’s Fourth Plinth sculpture project in Trafalgar Square, scheduled for 2026 and 2028.

The shortlist includes Chila Kumari Singh Burman, Gabriel Chaile, Ruth Ewan, Thomas J Price, Veronica Ryan, Tschabalala Self and Andra Ursuţa. The commission is funded by the Mayor of London, Bloomberg Philanthropies and the recently under-fire Arts Council England.

The successful nominees will follow Samson Kambalu’s current statue, depicting a meeting between the Malawi-born Baptist preacher and pan-Africanist John Chilembwe and English missionary John Chorley; and 850 Improntas (850 Imprint), a sculpture by Teresa Margolles featuring casts of the faces of 850 trans people from London and around the world, which will open later this year.

The accepted proposals will be accepted following a public vote and decision making by the Fourth Plinth Commissioning Group, an ‘independent panel of artists, journalists and curators’.

‘Hornero’ by Gabriel Chaile
‘Believe in Discontent’ by Ruth Ewan
‘Ancient Feelings’ by Thomas J Price
‘Sweet Potatoes and Yams are Not the Same’ by Veronica Ryan
‘Lady in Blue’ by Tschabalala Self
‘Untitled’ by Andra Ursuţa

Most recent


We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy.