K11 Group X ArtReview Artist-in-Residence Programme announces residents

K11 Group X ArtReview Artist-in-Residence Programme received an overwhelming number of applications and announced 20 Artist Residents

The international open call of the Artist-in-Residence Programme co-presented by K11 Group and ArtReview received over 220 applications from over 40 countries and regions, with artists of all ages and backgrounds. The jury panel from K11 Art Foundation and ArtReview is delighted to announce the selection of 20 artist residents from 9 countries and regions for the institutes’ first residency partnership in K11 art village in Wuhan.

The partnership seeks to build a meaningful cultural exchange programme between artists from China and those from the rest of the world. Residents will be offered an integrated studio and living space, a group exhibition of works developed during the residency, as well as curated outreach programmes encompassing studio visits, seminars and exchange with local practitioners and art communities.

An international Masterclass programme, which is critical for the dialogue exchange between emerging practitioners in China and the international art scene, will also be presented. Artists can further develop their works through conversations with internationally acclaimed artist mentors. The first batch of five artist residents can further develop their works through conversations with internationally acclaimed artist mentor Zhang Enli.

The 20 artist residents will participate in the residency by batch from July 2023 to June 2024. The public is encouraged to follow the updates of the residents and the Programme via the digital and social media platforms of K11 Art Foundation and ArtReview.

Head to our announcement page more information and complete details of the partnership and residency programme. The residents are as follows.

Period 1: July – September 2023

Coco He (b.1995, Hong Kong, China): based in Shanghai, China
Cosmo Guo (b.1997, Hubei, China): based in Baltimore, United States
Gerry Li (b.1996, Hong Kong, China): based in Hong Kong, China
Ziyi Zhao (b.1996, Dalian, China): based between New York, United States and Dalian, China
Xiaocong Ge (b.1995 Wuhan, China): based in Singapore

Period 2: October – December 2023

Lin Zhu (b.1985 Ningbo, China): based in Shanghai, China
Emanuele Dainotti (b.1987, Milan, Italy) and Roel Heremans (b.1990, Brussels, Belgium): based respectively between Antwerp, Belgium and Milan, Italy; Brussels, Belgium and Stockholm, Sweden
CAS LabGanquan Tan (b.1995), Peisheng Wang (b.1996) and Dingfen Guo (b.1995, all Guangzhou, China): all based in Guangzhou, China
Pongyu Wai (b.1982, Hainan Island, China): based in Hong Kong, China
Olutayo Aje (b.1966, Oyo state, Nigeria): based in Lagos, Nigeria

Period 3: January – March 2024

Tianyi Zheng (b.1995, Wuhan, China): based between Hong Kong, China and Rotterdam, Netherlands
Zoë Marden (b.1985, Hong Kong, China): based in London, United Kingdom
Chris Ro (b.1976, Seattle, United States): based in Seoul, South Korea
Frank Wang (b.1984, Shanghai, China): based in New York, United States
Satoshi Fujiwara (b.1984 Kobe, Japan): based in Berlin, Germany

Period 4: April – June 2024

Ruofan Chen (b.1996, Hubei, China): based in Shanghai, China
Tingwei Li (b.1989 Yantai, China): based between Shanghai, China and Berlin, Germany
Neelambari Phalkey (b.1978, Maharashtra, India): based in Birmingham, United Kingdom
Chen Pin tao (b.1994, Sydney, Australia): based in Hong Kong, China
Rita Benissan (b.1995, Abidjan, Côte D’Ivoire): based between Michigan, United States and Accra, Ghana

Most recent


We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy.