Chanel Next Prize 2024 announces winners

Ho Tzu Nyen, The Name, 2015, single channel HD projection, surround sound, 16 min 51 sec. Courtesy of the artist and Kiang Malingue. 

Chanel has announced ten winners for the second edition of Chanel Next Prize. Each artist will receive 100,000€ to realise their artistic projects as well as access to a two-year mentorship and networking programme facilitated by international cultural partners of the House of Chanel, including the Royal College of Art in London.

The winners of the prize are interdisciplinary artist Tolia Astakhishvili (born in Tbilisi, Georgia, based in Berlin and Tbilisi); visual artist and filmmaker Kantemir Balagov (born in Nalchik, in the Kabardino-Balkaria region of Russia, based in Los Angeles, US); choreographer Oona Doherty (born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, based in Marseille, France); game developer Sam Eng (born and based in New York); multidisciplinary artist Ho Tzu Nyen (born and based in Singapore); visual artist and director Fox Maxy (born and based in San Diego, US); musician, poet and visual artist Camae Ayewa, or Moor Mother (born and based in US); artist and educator Dalton Paula (born in Brasilia, based in Goiânia, Brazil); classical music composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir (born in Iceland, based in Greater London); and singer, creator and curator Davóne Tines (born in Virginia, based in Baltimore, US).

The selection was made by a panel of judges including actor Tilda Swinton, artist Cao Fei and the leading curators Hans Ulrich Obrist and Legacy Russell.

Most recent


We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy.