8th Yokohama Triennale announces participating artists

Carol Yinghua Lu and Liu Ding. Courtesy Yokohama Triennale

Organisers of the 8th Yokohama Triennale, titled ‘Wild Grass: Our Lives’, have announced the first round of participants. Slated to run from 15 March to 9 June 2024, the exhibition takes inspiration from Chinese literary legend Lu Xu and explores the possibilities of a lived experience that is ‘fragile and defenceless but strong and resilient’.

The list features 68 artists and collectives, of which 21 will be producing newly commissioned works. Among the participants is artist Joar Nango from the nomadic Sámi tribe, whose interest in climate change, material shortage and the circulation of resources within the Sápmi region will be reflected in his redecoration of the façade of the main venue. South African artist Lungiswa Gqunta will present a new sculpture piece using her signature medium of barbed wire to negotiate the ‘landscape’ of inequalities resulting from patriarchy and colonialism. Ukrainian collective The Open Group (Yuriy Biley, Pavlo Kovach and Anton Varga) will present a work emerging from their interviews with Ukrainian citizens living in a refugee camp in Lviv. Japanese collective SIDE CORE (Sakie Takasu, Toru Matsushita and Futoshi Nishihiro) will present a video-survey of Japan’s history of street culture.

The full list of artists is as follows:

Søren Aagaard (Danish), Dirk Braeckman (Belgian), Élise Carron & Fanny Devaux (French), Rainbow Chan (Chinese, Hong Kong), Susan Cianciolo (American), Larry Clark (American), Norm Clasen (American), Clément Cogitore (French), Raffaella Crispino (Italian), Carlomar Arcangel Daoana (Filipino), Jeremy Deller (British), Dobai Péter (Hungarian), Dohi Miho (Japanese), Pippa Garner (American), Lungiswa Gqunta (South African), Miles Greenberg (Canadian), Aneta Grzeszykowska (Polish), Jens Haaning (Danish), Artan Hajrullahu (Kosovan), Hamaguchi Takashi (Japanese), Lewis Hammond (British), Matthew Harris (Australian), Hasegawa Kiyoshi (Japanese), South Ho (Chinese, Hong Kong), Jonathan Horowitz (American), Huang Po-Chih (Taiwanese), Stanya Kahn (American), Özgür Kar (Turkish), Damla Kilickiran (Swedish), Kitajima Keizo (Japanese), Josh Kline (American), Käthe Kollwitz (German), Kuriyagawa Hakuson (Japanese), Klara Liden (Swedish), Lu Xun (Chinese), Treiborlang Lyngdoh Mawlong (Indian), Stéphane Mandelbaum (Belgian), Morimura Yasumasa (Japanese), Sandra Mujinga (Congolese), Joar Nango (Norwegian), Erik Niedling (German), Ingo Niermann (German), Niwa Yoshinori (Japanese), Ono Tadashige (Japanese), Open Group (Yuriy Biley, Pavlo Kovach, Anton Varga) (Ukrainian), Otake Eiko (Japanese), Pope.L (American), Prickly Paper (Chen Yifei & Ou Feihong) (Chinese), Tomas Rafa (Slovakian), Sibylle Ruppert (German), Margaret Salmon (American), Allan Sekula (American), Shiga Lieko (Japanese), Side Core (Japanese), Rita Siegfried (Swiss), Vunkwan Tam (Unspecified), Taninaka Yasunori (Japanese), Salote Tawale (Fijian), Teshigahara Sofu (Japanese), Tomiyama Taeko (Japanese), Tsukuda Hiroki (Japanese), Emmanuel Van der Auwera (Belgian), Myrthe Van der Mark (Dutch), Puck Verkade (Dutch), Xper.Xr (Chinese, Hong Kong), Zhao Wenliang (Chinese), Zheng Yefu (Chinese)

Most recent


We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy.